top of page
  • Jim

Underrated: “Hotel Artemis”

* * * B


Hotel Artemis is a highly underrated science fiction film about a secret hospital that caters to criminals. It is set in the near future, and features excellent performances by Jodie Foster (the Nurse) and

Sterling K. Brown. The supporting cast is solid, the science fiction interesting, and the plot well written. If you like science fiction, I recommend you watch it for yourself and make up your own mind.

The amazing thing about this film is that on Rotten Tomatoes, it has both a low critic score (57%, which is close to fresh) and a low audience score (33%). If you dig in to the reviews, the big critique seems to be that the ending was weak. While I agree that the film is not excellent, I thought it was fun. While lately I’ve found the critics to often be wrong, I rarely like a film that both critics and audience agree is poor.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page