top of page
  • Jim

Movies Coming in 2019

I’m going to comment on the movies planned for release in 2019 according to The Numbers. I’m only commenting on ones that I’ve heard of or that sound interesting.Release DateFilm TitleCommentsFebruary 1Jacob’s LadderWhy is this excellent film being remade? Unless I hear it’s as good or better than the original, I’m not interested.February 5Benchwarmers 2: Breaking BallsYuck!February 8The LEGO Movie 2: The Second PartI couldn’t get through the first part. No go.What Men WantI loved the original, but this is another all female reboot. Unless I hear it’s good, I’m not interested.February 14Alita: Battle AngelThis looks epic. I plan to see it unless I hear it’s bad.February 22How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden WorldI thought the first film was decent, but don’t feel the need to watch any of the sequels.March 8Captain MarvelI’ll go to this if I hear it’s good.March 15Wonder ParkLooks like another dumb animated film. No go.March 29DumboLive action Tim Burton film. I’ll go if I hear it’s good.April 5Pet CemetaryRemake of a decent film based on a good Stephen King novel. I may go see it if I hear it’s good.Shazam!Zach “Chuck” Levi in a Big meets super hero film. Looks fun. I’m in.April 12HellboyReboot (why?) starring David “Hopper” Harbour. The professor is downgraded from John Hurt to Ian McShane. I’ll go if I hear it’s good.April 26Avengers: EndgameWill see this unless I hear it’s bad.May 10Detective PikachuRyan Reynolds voices the electric mouse. Will see this if I hear it’s good.May 17John Wick 3: ParabellumHopefully this one’s better than part 2. May see in the theatre if I hear it’s good.May 24AladdinLoved the animated version. Will Smith as Genie. Will see if I hear it’s good.BrightBurnHorror Superman from GOTG director James Gunn. May see if I hear it’s good.MinecraftUnlikely to see this.May 31Godzilla: King of the MonstersMay see this if I hear it’s good, but unlikely.RocketmanElton John biopic. I love EJ, but doubt I’ll go to this.June 7Dark PhoenixThe final Fox instalment in the X-Men reboot. May go if I hear it’s good.The Secret Life of Pets 2Nope.June 14Men in Black: InternationalMay see this reboot starring Tessa “Valkyrie” Thompson and Chris “Thor” Hemsworth with Liam Neeson as “Z”.ShaftComedy reboot. No thanks.June 21Child’s PlayReboot horror. No thanks.GrudgeThird sequel to my favourite horror film. I’ll pass unless I hear it’s great.Toy Story 4May see this. Liked the first three.June 2847 Meters Down: UncagedShark movie sequel. No!July 3The Conjuring 3Might see. First one was decent. Unlikely.July 5Spider-Man: Far From HomeHomecoming was decent. May see this sequel.July 19The Lion KingLive action remake. Might see it if I hear it’s great.August 2Dora The ExplorerNoHobbs and ShawFast and Furious spin off with the Rock and Statham. Unlikely to see this.The New MutantsScary X-Men. Will go if I hear it’s good.August 9Artemis FowlMay go to this young adult fantasy if I hear good things.August 16The Angry Birds Movie 2No chance.PLAYMOBILNope.September 6It: Chapter TwoHells yeah!September 20Downton AbbeyOnly if I’m dragged there.October 4JokerJaochim Phoenix stars. I may go if I hear it’s good.October 11The Addams FamilyAnother reboot? No chance.Are You Afraid of the Dark?Meh. Not likely.Zombieland 2 3DNot unless I hear it’s really good. First one was OK.November 1Charlie’s AngelsAnother rereboot with Kirsten Stewart. No chance.Terminator 6Maybe, if I hear it’s good. Still haven’t watched Genesis. I loved 1 and 2. November 8MidwayReboot of an old war movie. Unlikely I’ll see it.Sonic The HedgehogUnlikely I’ll see this.November 15Untitled Kingsman MovieIf I hear it’s better than the second one, maybe.November 22Frozen 2Nope. Haven’t seen the first one.December 13Jumanji 3May see if I hear it’s good. The reboot (Jumanji 2) was surprisingly good.December 18Masters of the UniverseMight see this if I hear its really good.December 20Star Wars: Ep. IXWill see this unless I hear its terrible.TBDBride of FrankensteinMay see this if I hear its really good.Kim PossibleUnlikely to see this.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page