top of page
  • Jim

Reviews of “Messiah” and “Dracula”

Updated: Jul 26, 2020

Why am I reviewing two series at the same time? To illustrate an interesting point.

* * * * A
messiah

I really enjoyed this series, and hope that it is renewed for a second season. When I checked it out on Rotten Tomatoes, I discovered that 90% of the audience agreed with me. Yet what rating do the critics give it? 40%, rotten.


* D
dracula-bbc

Unfortunately for Dracula, the writing is terrible. After watching the first two episodes, I’ll probably give up on it. Again, checking out Rotten Tomatoes, the audience agreed, giving it a 55% rotten rating. Yet what do the critics give it? 70% fresh.


The Point

Film critics have always been rather out of touch. Often in the past they would rate things 20% higher or lower than the audience. Usually I would agree with the audience and occasionally with the critics. But now, the majority of critics seem to have lost touch with what makes film good.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page