top of page
  • Jim

Review of “October Faction” (episodes 1 & 2)

Updated: Jul 3, 2020

* D

october-faction

The writing is cringily bad, with “jokes” that consistently fail to land. The teen drama is awful, worse than in Twilight or Spiderman Homecoming. There is a lot of virtue signalling, calling out white privilege, anti-gay bigotry (yes, one of the characters gets called a “homo”), and none of it is subtle or seems an organic part of the story. The pacing is all over the place, by turns turgid, then frenetic.

After sitting through a second episode just to make sure, I’m unlikely to watch further unless someone tells me that the series improves drastically. I’d compare this to Sabrina, or any of the recent CW super hero shows. Not for me, and it seems I’m not alone: the rotten tomatoes audience score is 55% (rotten).

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page